Lecture Series


Title Sponsor: Bartlett Tree Experts
Supporting Sponsors: Queen Street Playhouse and South State Bank

Our monthly educational Lecture Series, free to current CHS members, welcomes horticultural experts from all over the country, as well as locally, sharing their experiences and expertise on a variety of subjects from landscape design and preservation to butterflies and world travel. Our lectures always are tailored to relevancy of gardening and growing here in the Lowcountry and are attending by over 1500 members and visitors each season.

This season, due to CDC recommendations against gatherings in response to COVID 19, we will be hosting our fall lectures via Zoom. Prior to each lecture all members will receive an email with easy instructions how to attend the live virtual lectures from the comfort and safety of their own homes. We thank you in advance for your understanding as we continue to guarantee top quality horticulture educational content for all our members. 

Monday Nov. 16th at 6:30pm (LIVE VIRTUAL LECTURE)
Designing With Palms with garden author and photographer Jason Dewees

Purchase non-member tickets HERE for $10

Accompanied by beautiful photographs by Caitlin Atkinson, many taken in Charleston, Jason Dewees’s talk introduces gardeners and designers to the power of palms in landscape design. Jason will give a primer on this fascinating, diverse, and charismatic family of plants, and show the many ways palms can contribute to and structure beautiful, useful gardens, landscapes, and public spaces. He will draw lessons from gardens in Hawaii, South Carolina, Florida, and California and discuss the special aesthetic and symbolic impact made by palms adapted to tropical, subtropical, and warm-temperate climates. Following the lecture we will do a live Q & A with Jason! 

Author of the award-winning book, Designing with Palms (Timber Press), Jason Dewees is the horticulturist and palm expert at Flora Grubb Gardens, in San Francisco, and Grubb & Nadler Growers, San Diego.

He works as a horticultural consultant for landscape designers, landscape architects, and gardeners, and has offered guidance to the San Francisco Conservatory of Flowers, Golden Gate Park, the University of California Botanical Garden, the City of San Francisco, the Presidio Trust, the San Francisco Department of Public Works, and the San Francisco Botanical Garden, trained volunteers and docents, and has propagated thousands of trees.

Jason has lectured at the California Horticultural Society; the UC Botanical Garden, Berkeley; The Huntington Library, Art Collections, and Botanical Garden; the Sherman Library and Gardens; Mounts Botanical Garden, West Palm Beach; Miami Beach Botanical Garden; Flamingo Gardens, Florida; and the Garden Conservancy.

Jason joined the Northern California Chapter of the International Palm Society as their youngest member in 1986, and has served on the council of the California Horticultural Society, as well as on the Horticultural Advisory Committee of the San Francisco Botanical Garden, and the Advisory Council of the Conservatory of Flowers. Born and raised in San Francisco, he graduated from Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut

Thank you to our sponsors!

Bartlett Tree Experts
Queen Street Playhouse
Church Creek Nursery

Lectures at the Charleston Museum unless otherwise noted
* held at Queen Street Playhouse 

2019 – 2020 SPEAKER LINEUP:
Sept. 9: Film: Piet Oudolf *
Oct. 14: Jen Stringer *
Nov. 11: Joe Lamp’l
Jan. 13: Susan Johnson
Feb. 10: Chris Woods
Mar. 16: Jason Dewees
Apr. 13: Brent Heath
May 13: Debra Lee Baldwin

2018 – 2019
Sept. 10: Vince Dooley
Oct. 8: Jim Martin
Nov. 12: Kirk Brown
Jan. 14: Nancy Hart
Feb. 11: Troy Marden
Mar. 11: Joe Henderson
Apr. 8: David Johnson
May 13: Julie Moir Messervy

2017 – 2018
Brie Arthur
Mark Weathington
Andrea Sprott
Pam Beck
Ernest Koone III
Lloyd Traven
The Nichols Bros.

2|016 – 2017:
Andy McCabe
Linda Lanier
Rudy Mancke
Sidney Frasier
Amy Dabbs
Buddy Lee
Dr. Merle Shepard

2015 – 2016:
Rita Randolph
Ben Lenhardt
Joseph Tychonievich
Susan Haltom
Jon Carloftis
Adrienne Roethling
Pam Beck
Derek Wade

2014 – 2015:
Walter Reeves
Ted Stephens
Bill Welch
Patrick McMillan
Jonathan Wright
Vince Dooley
Karl Gercens
Bill Noble

2013 – 2014:
Glen Gardner
Dr. Lincoln Brower
Karl Gercens
Dean Norton
Betsy Pringle
Gregg Tepper
Sara Clow
Brian Upchurch

2012 – 2013:
Pam Beck
Kelby Fite
John Hoffman
Peter Hatch
Rita Randolph
George Sanko
Karl Gercens
Scott McMahan

2011- 2012:
Patrick McMillan
Ted Stevens
Sheila Wertimer
Bobby Ward
Robert Mottern
David Stickel
Pam Beck
Flo Chaffin